by Jane Pollak

I mentor creative professionals and help them achieve greater success. I am devoted to entrepreneurs who value a rich, diverse and passionate business life that is balanced and truly meaningful. With that in mind, I decided to host a celebration for all of my past, present and a few prospective clients.event-image1

At my celebration I wanted to set a tone for the New Year that would motivate and inspire everyone who attended. I challenged my clients to do three things this year. I wanted to call forth their ability BIG TIME in 2009. Here’s what I shared with them – I think you will find these challenges helpful too!

1. Use your gifts. Even if your calendar isn’t 100% booked with clients, figure out a way to continue your practice.

  • Keep putting out what you do via direct mail, email, phone calls, flyers and networking.
  • Barter – Offer your services/products in exchange for something you want or need.
  • Give it away in demonstrations.
  • Teach what you know.
  • Change your offerings to match your clients’ needs.

2. Get out there in a big way. When I look around at you all and think about how you’ve come into my life, it was through following this advice. Here are some of the ways we’ve met:

  • Go to networking meetings (EWN, WBDC, FNEW, etc.)
  • Join BNI.
  • Join Toastmasters.
  • Start a blog or newsletter.
  • Call 20 people in your Rolodex and ask them what their goals are for 2009.
  • Make a commitment to one person here tonight for an action this week and follow-up.

3. Stay positive!

  • Make a date with someone you meet tonight and arrange coffee, tea or lunch.
  • Throw a party! Collaborate with women you’ve met and send out the invitations. Make it pot luck. It doesn’t have to be expensive. We need to see and hear each other. Invite me!

Extra Credit assignment:  Do all of the above.

Jane Pollak is a Certified Professional Co-active Coach and the author of Soul Proprietor: jane-2009-head-shot2101 Lessons from a Lifestyle Entrepreneur. She is frequently featured in the media including The Today Show, HGTV and CBS News. After a highly successful career as an artist, Jane has focused on coaching entrepreneurs and shares tips and insights on her blog at janepollakblog.com.


